Research Mapping

The following are the beginning of a series of diagrams and models that were made over the last week indicating the direction of my research. Unsure where to start with the diagram, I decided to first explore the relationship between territory and boundary through a follie.

The follie made use of crochet techniques that I explored in my undergraduate, in a design studio titled: Thickened Ground, in which we designed futures for the Lake Eildon reservoir and its surrounds, that were in the grips of a severe drought. I intended that the crochet would enable me to articulate the tensions between the boundary, and the territory that it defines. The use of cottons, elastics and different crochet stitches, weaves and tensions attempts to present a flexible model that presents the paradox of the infliction of a fixed boundary, or limit, on a flexible condition.

The disaster of the follie, is that, though beautiful… it does not question enough, nor define enough to contribute a real position or opinion. If, it had attempted to explore one quality of the boundary, instead of many at once, it might have been more successful. So, this makes way for follie II.

The diagram, following the model, is a basic suggestion of the case studies that the project endeavors to use as an exploration of the conditions of boundary and territory, as well as beginning to mark out key themes. It remains unfinished.

.

follie I

Articulating territory and boundary

follie I . territory and boundary. materials: cottons, elastic, lace . techniques: crochet, sewing

.

diagram I

Research trajectories and structure [incomplete]

diagram of research

About this entry